• Redkey@programming.dev
    link
    fedilink
    arrow-up
    36
    ·
    10 hours ago

    The most insidious part of OneDrive and Google’s equivalent (Photos, etc.) on Android is that they both treat the cloud copy as the “original” and the local copy as temporary. That is, in normal usage, if you delete the local copy it remains in the cloud, but if you delete the cloud copy it also deletes the local copy automatically. Under both systems, if you want to delete something from the cloud but keep the local copy, you have to go through a separate, clunky web interface.

    • marcos@lemmy.world
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      8
      ·
      6 hours ago

      you have to go through a separate, clunky web interface

      Yes, you get a Linux machine, and use the web interface there. It’s less clunky than the one you get on Android, and way more reliable than whatever you do on Windows that would end-up with you uploading the files a second time.

    • Tynan@lemmy.ml
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      17
      ·
      9 hours ago

      Just spent two evenings with a friend of my mom who was losing her mind because Google was threatening to cut off her emails if she didn’t clear out pay for more storage space. Obviously her phone was uploading all her pictures so every time she cleared some space Google happily filled it back up for her automatically. Fortunately her frantic deletions were within the last 30 days so takeout recovered 36GB of dead husband pictures from a 15GB Drive. But let me tell you, clearing out Google Photos was tedious, there is no Select All button in the web interface because leaving their service is not something they want you to do.