• DickHertz@lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    10
    ·
    3 days ago

    Yeah, I read it. That’s kind of the point. Apple’s adding more guardrails because people will click Allow on damn near anything without thinking about what they’re actually giving access to. 🙄

    • Wildmimic@anarchist.nexus
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      2
      ·
      edit-2
      1 day ago

      That really depends on how you design the pop-up dialogue. If it looks like a standard EULA, yeah, most people will just skip reading. If you darken the screen, and use large, flashing warnings with a short and clear info about the limited amount of cases for such a dangerous permission to be ok, they will for sure look closer.

      Late Edit: And make sure you don’t fatigue your clients with a permanent spam of warnings! Holy fuck, MS with their UAC really had to learn that one the hard way. If every single software installation and change of system settings warns you of proceeding then the warning becomes useless (and these warnings were actually one of the first things i deactivated on fresh installations exactly of that issue)

      • username123@sh.itjust.works
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        2
        ·
        2 days ago

        Wish i could integrate it with my Bluetooth siren and a configurable sci-fi one-liner: “Danger, Will Robinson!” “Just what do you think you’re doing, Dave?” “Nuh uh uhh” etc

      • DickHertz@lemmy.world
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        10
        ·
        3 days ago

        Correct me if I’m wrong, but I don’t think an app could give itself Full Disk Access without the user explicitly approving it, even during an update.

      • Carl@anarchist.nexus
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        2
        ·
        3 days ago

        Apps can’t add permissions via an update. If an app adds a new feature with an update that requires a new permission, the user will be prompted the first time the app tries to use that new feature.