We know the younger generations are somewhat cooked, and that, wouldn’t trust a boomer or GenXer with that either. Even for a millennial that’s horrible UX.
It’s designed to trick people. It displays the message for 30 seconds or a full minute (don’t remember) every single time it boots. There is no indication that there is a timer running. If there’s a way to skip it and/or disable it, it isn’t not apparent.
Ok get this: Putting the computer into a state where it will so graciously allow you to install a text editor also requires completely wiping all data on it. Good thing my cousin didn’t know that you could even save data to a computer in the first place! Pressing G to revert it also completely wipes it. Imagine working on something for a week before pushing it to some remote git repo and accidentally hitting that.
They are completely, intentionally fucking up the minds of children to make them dependent for life. We need a new round of Nuremberg trials for big tech.
OK that “press G” prompt is horrible, though.
We know the younger generations are somewhat cooked, and that, wouldn’t trust a boomer or GenXer with that either. Even for a millennial that’s horrible UX.
It’s designed to trick people. It displays the message for 30 seconds or a full minute (don’t remember) every single time it boots. There is no indication that there is a timer running. If there’s a way to skip it and/or disable it, it isn’t not apparent.
Ok get this: Putting the computer into a state where it will so graciously allow you to install a text editor also requires completely wiping all data on it. Good thing my cousin didn’t know that you could even save data to a computer in the first place! Pressing G to revert it also completely wipes it. Imagine working on something for a week before pushing it to some remote git repo and accidentally hitting that.
They are completely, intentionally fucking up the minds of children to make them dependent for life. We need a new round of Nuremberg trials for big tech.