Heh I would play it as the player is now PART of the hoard and is now the DRAGONS personal pet. The player was too persuasive lol.
And now the shenanigans is trying to get away from said dragon. And the rest of the group will now be dealing with a dragon that wants its shiny back in its hoard for the entire rest of the campaign.
Nat 20s can make for some GREAT monkey paw situations. Its really fun.
DM: “Nat-20? The dragon is amused by your insane audacity and merely punts you out of his chamber instead of turning you into a smoking cinder on the spot. Roll for fall damage.”
Nat 20 adds one to the degree of success, which almost always means a crit unless you are dealing with something way above your level.
How some crazies want ability checks to work:
Player: I gesture vaguely towards the ancient dragon indicating I would like it to give me all of its gold and become my personal pet.
DM: Roll a persuasion check
Player: Let’s see… Minus 4 because I’m still only level 2… With a Nat-20 that’s totals 16
DM: Nat-20? By golly I guess that means you succeed - the ancient dragon and its entire hoard of treasure are yours now.
Heh I would play it as the player is now PART of the hoard and is now the DRAGONS personal pet. The player was too persuasive lol.
And now the shenanigans is trying to get away from said dragon. And the rest of the group will now be dealing with a dragon that wants its shiny back in its hoard for the entire rest of the campaign.
Nat 20s can make for some GREAT monkey paw situations. Its really fun.
How critical success ability checks should work:
DM: “Nat-20? The dragon is amused by your insane audacity and merely punts you out of his chamber instead of turning you into a smoking cinder on the spot. Roll for fall damage.”
That’s Pathfinder rules, this is 5e
formally there is no crit success in 5e
I don’t see any indication that it is any specific system being referenced, so I chose the better one.
Well you’re wrong. Nat 20 or nat 19 actually means you get to take another main action on the same turn, which can potentially also crit.
That’s also homebrew inspired by pathfinder. There’s no rule in 5e about crits for anything outside combat.