• ulterno@programming.dev
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    5
    ·
    5 days ago

    I have hated “Safely Remove” from back when I was on Windows.
    Always did weird GUI stuff and does on this too.

    So I just use syncand when it properly finishes, I do safely remove.

    • Björn@swg-empire.de
      link
      fedilink
      English
      arrow-up
      4
      ·
      5 days ago

      I always assumed “safely remove” is just a umount which in turn does the sync before returning.

      • ulterno@programming.dev
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        1
        ·
        3 days ago

        Yes. I do too.
        But historically, the way it has indicated “working” in cases it takes more than a second, has been not very reliable.
        Specially on Ubuntu + GNOME back when I had to use it in the office.

      • ulterno@programming.dev
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        0
        ·
        3 days ago

        unmount/eject, then safely remove

        If you still have the safely remove option after running “unmount/eject”, I need to know what device you used.

        • flameleaf@programming.dev
          link
          fedilink
          English
          arrow-up
          1
          ·
          2 days ago

          It shows up for external HDDs and usb flash drives.

          I am using Xfce though, so probably not relevant to this bug. I was just commenting about my general workflow.

      • ulterno@programming.dev
        link
        fedilink
        English
        arrow-up
        1
        ·
        edit-2
        3 days ago

        TIL, dd has the option conv=fsync that makes it wait until all writing is finished, before exiting.

        So you can just touch /path/to/new/filename and then dd ... of=/path/to/new/filename conv=fsync

        Of course, you would have to do this for each file, in case it is multiple